12 January 2018

New commissioners appointed to Lotterywest Board

Premier Mark McGowan has today announced the appointments of Professor Kingsley Dixon and Elisabeth McLellan to the Lotterywest Board of Commissioners.

Professor Dixon – a renowned botanist and Western Australia’s 2016 Scientist of the Year – officially took up his appointment from 01 December 2017 and has played a leading role in conserving threatened species and transforming ecological restoration practice in Australia.

Professor Dixon has also provided high-level scientific advice at both a State and Federal level and is Chair of The Society for Ecological Restoration Australasia.

Ms McLellan – a leading Geraldton based conservationist - brings with her 25 years at the forefront of conservation, including almost 10 years with WWF International and eight as Co-Lead of the organisation’s global Wildlife Crime Campaign.

Ms McLellan holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons), Masters Applied Science and Graduate Diploma of Education while Professor Dixon holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons) and PhD from The University of Western Australia.

Premier Mark McGowan acknowledged outgoing Commissioners Dr Maria Harries and Mr Garry Trinder and thanked them for their contribution to Lotterywest.

Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:

“I’m delighted to announce the appointments of both Professor Dixon and Ms McLellan to the Lotterywest Board of Commissioners.”

“I trust Professor Dixon and Ms McLellan will bring with them a commitment to strengthening environmental protection and biodiversity conservation here in Western Australia.”

“Last financial year Lotterywest returned $265 million to the State by way of its grants program overseen by the organisation’s CEO and Board of Commissioners.”

“I thank outgoing Board Members Dr Maria Harries and Mr Garry Trinder for their six year contribution to Lotterywest.”